How do experts shade

Discuss your skinning adventures here!

Post Permalink
by Rockstargman14 » 3/3/2013

ok so im kinda new to shading, at the moment i create on white or black ball and spread it over the body, but i want to know how experts shade
Level 1
New Miner

Post Permalink
by FocusLight » 3/3/2013

Here is a list of skinning tutorials, just scroll down to see it. :D

http://www.planetminecraft.com/forums/the-official-pmc-skinning-guide-compendium-t91418.html
Contest Judge
Level 30
Artisan Pixel Puncher
Says: Also classified
Minecraft: Overdrive_316

Post Permalink
by TheReadyBoys » 3/4/2013

That is a good compilation of guides, but remember, everyone has a different style of shading. Try out different types, and you will eventually get one that you like.
Level 33
Artisan Farmer
Minecraft: TheReadyBoys

Post Permalink
by Azie » 3/4/2013

When I shade, I try to follow normal contours of the body and clothing. I don't like overshading, so my shading seems to lend a cartoony style. For example, your back slopes inward, toward the front of your body, unless you have a hunchback. In this case, the shading would go from light near the shoulders to dark near the waist. For clothing, ridges are lighter and valleys are darker. I tend not to overshade the skin, using only one or two colors to shade the face and bare arms.
Site Moderator
Level 38
Artisan Turtle
Says: The Sunflower Sniper
Minecraft: XxxAziexxX

Post Permalink
by -R A W R- » 3/4/2013

Your last skin looks pretty nice with that shading. Do you want to know like detailed shading, or more of a cartoon-ish shading?
Level 1
New Pixel Puncher
Says: I make minecraft skins for fun.
Minecraft: _RawrPMC_
mc_server: I don't have one yet :I

Post Permalink
by Mikugri » 3/8/2013