How to update someone else's mod?

Dirkerdoodle's Avatar Dirkerdoodle2/11/16 7:33 am
1 emeralds 3.1k 11
3/7/2016 1:36 am
qwEArfzwsertgredtyhr's Avatar qwEArfzwsertgredtyhr
Alright so I have some really old mods on my external drive, that I kind of want in my game. Right now, all my current mods are 1.8, but the old ones are 1.7.4 and 1.6.
I did some looking into it, and it seems these are mostly abandoned mods, ones that the creators don't really intend to work on anymore, or the creators have just kind of... vanished.
I have NO desire nor intention to share any of these mods after edit.
However, I am brand new to modding, never made a mod in my life. Since I am interested in learning to mod, I figure it'd be easier to mess around with a premade mod than it would be to jump in head first and try making something from scratch, right?
Again, these edits will be for personal and private use only. These are old mods that have been abandoned or discontinued.

Since I am new to this, please be patient, and remember I have no idea what I'm doing.
Dirkerdoodle
Level 1 : New Miner

Create an account or sign in to comment.

03/07/2016 1:36 am
Level 5 : Apprentice Archer
qwEArfzwsertgredtyhr
Look at the "Essence of the Gods" mod, it's horribe, but it gives you EVERYTHING you need to know about modding, it's also open source(witch means they have a download for the java files), Hope I helped
03/04/2016 9:45 pm
Level 25 : Expert Engineer
MoominSha
I saw on spigot's main page some comment the read more button?
You can import old legacy bukkit tags into any pre 1.7.9 and upgrade
it with the new 1.9 tags using buildtools
and some command line.

It appears to rebuild plugin's internal references or something?

java -jar BuildData/bin/SpecialSource-2.jar map -m CraftBukkit/deprecation-mappings.csrg -i MyPlugin.jar -o MyPlugin-fixed.jar

Check it maybe. Looks a bit geeky.

https://www.spigotmc.org/threads/minecr ... se.127186/

Perhaps there is a way...
02/11/2016 5:41 pm