Looking for advice from experienced builders

drblackapple's Avatar drblackapple7/22/16 4:11 am
1 emeralds 366 5
7/22/2016 10:41 pm
VoxelBlox's Avatar VoxelBlox
I am fairly new to building, but can learn very quick. I recently joined a project to recreate sets from Studio Ghibli films. I want to make Laputa or also known as "The Castle in the Sky". Just google search that if you don't know what it looks like.

My questions are, where should I start the build? I was thinking the outer rings, but I'm unsure. How can I make a perfectly symmetrical (or at least unnoticeable) castle? I've never done such a large scale build before. So any advice on large scale building, like, mods/plugins that will help to speed up or be more accurate would be awesome.

Thanks for anyone who decides to help me out in advance.
Have a great day!
drblackapple
Level 1 : New Crafter

Create an account or sign in to comment.

07/22/2016 10:41 pm
Level 36 : Artisan Procrastinator
VoxelBlox
drblackapple
VoxelBloxUse MCEdit to make the rings and main structure of the castle.

What commands would I use to make the rings? I'm still pretty novice at MCEdit.

For the rings make a sphere of the desired dimensions (length and width, height doesnt matter very much) and cut off the top and bottom of the sphere, leaving the ring itself. At this point will will simply be a large and thick circle. Use another sphere the same way but dont paste it in the circle. Instead place it a good ways out of the circle and do the same thing as before. Now change the blocks of this second, smaller circle using the Fill and Replace tool and make it something you can easily tell apart. Copy or cut the smaller circle and make sure you uncheck "Copy Air" before you paste it. Once that is pasted, select the entire circle and remove the one you just posted, again with the Fill and Replace tool.

You got yourself a ring now. Follow the same process a few times.