Minecraft Server run.bat HELP!

Anything that isn't Minecraft-related or doesn't go anywhere above goes here.

Post Permalink
by oneredstonemaster » 5/14/2013

C:\Documents and Settings\HP_Administrator\Desktop\MC\Bukkit 32 Bit>java.exe -Xm
x2G -Xms1G -jar craftbukkit.jar
Error occurred during initialization of VM
Could not reserve enough space for object heap
Error: Could not create the Java Virtual Machine.
Error: A fatal exception has occurred. Program will exit.

C:\Documents and Settings\HP_Administrator\Desktop\MC\Bukkit 32 Bit>PAUSE
Press any key to continue . . .

Please help me fix this error :"(

Server IP:
User avatar
Level 11
Journeyman Hunter
Posts: 63
Joined: 3/15/13

Post Permalink
by -Kali- » 5/14/2013

What you do, is make the run.bat yourself. What you do is find whaat folder YOUR java is, and do that. Find where the java is.

User avatar
Level 1
New Network
Posts: 2683
Joined: 5/11/12
Location: 'Murica. Massachusetts specifically. Oh gee, now I got them stalkers on me. See you at 4? ok
Says: "You have to learn the rules of the game. And then you have to play better than anyone else"
Minecraft: kevin9ye
mc_server: Kali's Invisible Make Believe Mini-Game Server!

Post Permalink
by CaptainMurica » 5/14/2013

You cannot allocate much more than 1024MB (1GB) to a 32-bit version of Java. Change the -Xmx2G to -Xmx1024M and get rid of the -Xms1G. This way it'll start at the bare minimum amount of RAM it needs, and work its way up as it needs more, up until 1GB. :)

So, the entire run.bat should look like this:

Code: Select all
@echo off

java -Xmx1024M -jar craftbukkit.jar nogui


You don't need to know where your Java program files are located to run a server startup script. It knows what to do automatically.

EDIT: If your computer is running a 64-bit version of Windows, just go uninstall the 32-bit Java and install the latest 64-bit version. Then you can allocate the 2048MB like you wanted to originally, and more if you think your computer can handle it. :)
User avatar
Level 29
Expert Button Pusher
Posts: 4218
Joined: 8/3/12
Location: Maryland, USA
Says: PMC PC Group moderator
Minecraft: CaptainMurica
mc_server: muricagaming.com

Post Permalink
by macgarthur » 5/14/2013

TheShadbusher is correct, with 32-bit Java you can only allocate 1gb RAM to the server. You will need to change the values for 1gb aka 1024mb or upgrade to 64-bit Java.
User avatar
Level 1
New Architect
Posts: 1047
Joined: 2/27/13

Post Permalink
by doom_w0lf » 5/14/2013

do u have java SE?
User avatar
Level 10
Journeyman Cake
Posts: 233
Joined: 11/11/12
Says: Exploding pineapple
Minecraft: doom_w0lf
mc_server: Werewolf Realms

Return to General Discussion