Minecraft won't open AT ALL! Help?

Did you mess up your Minecraft? Ask for help here!

Post Permalink
by Wizardofdoom » 4/27/2013

When I double click on my minecraft.exe it won't open AT ALL. It doesn't even open the launcher! Why does that happen. The java version I have is 7. Does it need to be 6 or 5? Is there another problem with it? Can someone please help me?
Image

Image
Please click it or it will die. :(
User avatar
Level 20
Expert Spleefer
Posts: 171
Joined: 8/18/12
Location: Somewhere in a galaxy very far far away from planet earth.

Post Permalink
by Magicman88999 » 4/27/2013

Re download it. If that doesn't work, I'd recommend you get MagicLauncher. it's boss.
Image
User avatar
Level 63
High Grandmaster Pixel Painter
Posts: 3191
Joined: 2/20/12
Location: The US of A, baby! And I'm damn proud of it!
Says: I play BF4, hit me up on the Battlelog @ Enthirr
Minecraft: magicman88999
mc_server: mc.dayzcraft.org

Post Permalink
by Wizardofdoom » 4/27/2013

Magicman88999 wrote:Re download it. If that doesn't work, I'd recommend you get MagicLauncher. it's boss.

I'll try magiclauncher because I've already tried redownloading it. Yet, it might not work because technic launcher and ftb aren't opening either so yea...
Image

Image
Please click it or it will die. :(
User avatar
Level 20
Expert Spleefer
Posts: 171
Joined: 8/18/12
Location: Somewhere in a galaxy very far far away from planet earth.

Post Permalink
by jadedwolf424 » 4/27/2013

Yes, i agree with magic, are all your minecraft
files in place?
Image
Image
User avatar
Level 7
Apprentice Archer
Posts: 634
Joined: 3/6/13

Post Permalink
by BotByron » 4/27/2013

use minecraft uninstaller then re download :lol:
User avatar
Level 1
New Miner
Posts: 1
Joined: 4/27/13

Post Permalink
by cestislife » 4/27/2013

The problem would stem from a corrupted Java install, as the .exe launcher is just essentially a wrapped .jar file.
Open command prompt by pressing the Windows key (looks like a flag on your keyboard) and R, then type in cmd. Press enter.

In the black window that appears, type in
Code: Select all
java -version


If a message with "java is not a valid command" or along the lines of that, then you have a corrupted or missing install.

I would recommend uninstalling all versions of Java present on the machine via the control panel or you could use the JavaRA tool to remove all traces of Java. Then, grab the latest version of Java here.

After doing all that, then try running Minecraft.
User avatar
Level 1
New Explorer
Posts: 37
Joined: 4/27/13
Minecraft: LORDVENOM0001

Post Permalink
by Whoever01 » 4/28/2013

If you used a mod, delete META-INF

-Who
User avatar
Level 40
Master Princess
Posts: 1881
Joined: 6/7/12
Location: The PMC Forums
Says: Hay Cyprez, can I haz mod?
Minecraft: Whoever01
mc_server: 9.11.9.11

Post Permalink
by -Kali- » 4/29/2013

if WINDOWS:

-go to the windows icon on bottom left
-Below "All programs", there is search bar
-Type: "%appdata%" into search bar
-Click Roaming folder
-Delete the .minecraft folder inside Roaming
Image
Image
Image

~~
User avatar
Forum Moderator
Level 1
New Network
Posts: 2682
Joined: 5/11/12
Location: 'Murica. Massachusetts specifically. Oh gee, now I got them stalkers on me. See you at 4? ok
Says: Nom nom nom nom nom Nom Nom Nom Nom NOM NOM NOM NOM NOM NOM NOM NOOOOMMMM NOOOOMMMMMMM NOOOOOOMMMMMM
Minecraft: kevin9ye
mc_server: Kali's Invisible Make Believe Mini-Game Server!

Post Permalink
by SkyTechKid » 4/29/2013

Don't listen to those guys.

1. Go right click on your MC launcher
2. Click Properties.
3. Click compatibility
4. Check the box that says "Run this program in compatibility mode for"
5. Select your OS on the drop down.
6. Click apply. (Bottom right corner).
7. Click OK.
8. Run minecraft
<div align="center"> <table style="color: black; background: #eeeeee"border="0" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="2"> <tr> <td
User avatar
Level 1
New Blacksmith
Posts: 459
Joined: 11/13/12


Return to Minecraft Help