Need Advice Hosting Server

AviG's Avatar AviG8/3/15 10:39 am
1 emeralds 138 4
8/7/2015 3:21 pm
GeekyDaddy's Avatar GeekyDaddy
Hey, AviG here!

I wanted to host a server, that has a consistent 15 players on at once. I have lots of questions. Sorry if I sound stupid, but I am completely new to this.
1. How much RAM? How much RAM do I need for 15 players and almost no lag?
2. What host? And don't say a link to the website because you can get banned on these forums for that. And why should I choose that host?
3. My budget is around $10-$15, is that possible for my requirements^. If not, how much will it cost.
4. Do I need knowledge of programming to do this?
5. I also want a custom IP, or at least a subdomain name. How?
6. VPS or Shared Hosting?
7. I am looking at spartanhosting- are they any good?

Please, if you have experience, than help point me in the right direction
AviG
Level 1 : New Crafter

Create an account or sign in to comment.

08/07/2015 3:21 pm
Level 1 : New Miner
GeekyDaddy
1) As most stated 1G for 20 players (vanilla of course). You need to specify this to the JVM when you start your server that you are giving it 1G. Use switch -Xmx<size>. Make sure you also have enough ram for the OS to run on the machine. If you start adding plugins start increasing your RAM.
2) Instead of having a hosting service with your own name you might want to consider a DDNS service. Some places are free (you'll have to shop for this) and you can kind of create your own name like mymcserver.someDDNSdomain.com.
3) You should be able to find some hosting company, but the cost may be higher if you want your own name.
4) You don't need knowledge of programming, but a basic understanding of networking and the TCP/IP protocol.
5) Having a permanent IP address, you would need to speak to your ISP. But when you seek a permanent IP, they tend to view this as business needs and jack up the prices. If you are not worried about domain name check out DDNS services