PORT FORWARDING without access to router.

Are you new to setting up a server and need a bit of pointing in the right direction? This is the place to be.

Post Permalink
by U4iK_HaZe » 7/23/2011

PORT FORWARDING without access to router. This means, you don't need Hamachi, you don't need to hack into your router to port forward.

Open command prompt, type "ipconfig" and look for the ipv4 address.
(192.168.1.X) and write it down or copy it somewhere. Mac or linux users, find another way to obtain your internal ipv4.

Ridiculously simple... download this .jar file:
http://www.u4ik.us/public/Port%20Mapper.jar

Run the file, it will open a window. Click "connect" in the middle left. Wait.

When a list populates, click "create" on the right side, in the Description box, type "Minecraft-25565-a" then in the "Remote Host" box type your ipv4 address. Make sure "use local host" is checked.

Click the "ADD" button twice. On the left, change one of the TCPs to UDP. You now have one of each... Double click all of the "1" values and replace with "25565" (or the port you want to use, but use 25565 since users won;t have to type host.com:port).

Click save, then in the box on the right side of main window, highlight your "minecraft-25565" entry. Click "USE" and wait for 20 seconds.

You're done.
(Wait, really? That's it?)

Yes. And better yet: This does not undo when you close the program. It's a permanent (unless you manually delete it) port forward.

Well obviously you need to actually have a minecraft server running. Make sure it binds to port 25565.

[the sun is mine]
Last edited by U4iK_HaZe on 8/1/2011, edited 1 time in total.
Image
Level 2
Apprentice Artist
Posts: 88
Joined: 6/30/11
Says: [the sun is mine]
Minecraft: U4iK_HaZe
mc_server: mc.u4ik.us

Post Permalink
by Luthery » 7/23/2011

´http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WAZEsiOPq1M
I could do that when i was two ! :O
User avatar
Level 1
New Explorer
Posts: 1725
Joined: 6/2/11
Location: Sweden (The Land of the Vikings)
Says: ''You're noob or pro, That's life''
Minecraft: Luthery

Post Permalink
by U4iK_HaZe » 7/23/2011

Luthery wrote:´http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WAZEsiOPq1M
I could do that when i was two ! :O


Hey, It's not like I can't do it, but I'm sick of all the requests for me to help people with their servers, I made this short tutorial.
Image
Level 2
Apprentice Artist
Posts: 88
Joined: 6/30/11
Says: [the sun is mine]
Minecraft: U4iK_HaZe
mc_server: mc.u4ik.us

Post Permalink
by mdaddy14100 » 7/23/2011

does this work on mac?
Image
Image
User avatar
Level 18
Journeyman Scribe
Posts: 9183
Joined: 6/7/11

Post Permalink
by U4iK_HaZe » 7/23/2011

mdaddy14100 wrote:does this work on mac?


I don't know, I don't use macs, but since it's a .jar I'd assume so.
Image
Level 2
Apprentice Artist
Posts: 88
Joined: 6/30/11
Says: [the sun is mine]
Minecraft: U4iK_HaZe
mc_server: mc.u4ik.us

Post Permalink
by 5mlon » 8/2/2011

U4iK_HaZe wrote:PORT FORWARDING without access to router. This means, you don't need Hamachi, you don't need to hack into your router to port forward.

Open command prompt, type "ipconfig" and look for the ipv4 address.
(192.168.1.X) and write it down or copy it somewhere. Mac or linux users, find another way to obtain your internal ipv4.

Ridiculously simple... download this .jar file:
http://www.u4ik.us/public/Port%20Mapper.jar


This Port Mapper requires a router. :( From its About box: "Manage port mappings of a router using Universal Plug and Play". If you want to forward without a router, VPortTR should do. (http://www.verifed.com/products/)
Level 1
New Miner
Posts: 2
Joined: 8/2/11

Post Permalink
by Jeberoth » 8/2/2011

Does this work for other people wanting to go on my server....because i asked my friend to come onto my server and it wont work
and it seems i binded it correctly
maybe..... maybe not
Image
User avatar
Level 13
Journeyman Unicorn
Posts: 8
Joined: 6/20/11

Post Permalink
by U4iK_HaZe » 8/2/2011

5mlon wrote:
U4iK_HaZe wrote:PORT FORWARDING without access to router. This means, you don't need Hamachi, you don't need to hack into your router to port forward.

Open command prompt, type "ipconfig" and look for the ipv4 address.
(192.168.1.X) and write it down or copy it somewhere. Mac or linux users, find another way to obtain your internal ipv4.

Ridiculously simple... download this .jar file:
http://www.u4ik.us/public/Port%20Mapper.jar


This Port Mapper requires a router. :( From its About box: "Manage port mappings of a router using Universal Plug and Play". If you want to forward without a router, VPortTR should do. (http://www.verifed.com/products/)



Port forwarding without ACCESS to a router. (Parental controls or just a non-default password maybe?)
Image
Level 2
Apprentice Artist
Posts: 88
Joined: 6/30/11
Says: [the sun is mine]
Minecraft: U4iK_HaZe
mc_server: mc.u4ik.us

Post Permalink
by meissooo » 8/2/2011

You should at least put where you got it from. "The Credits" and so on....

http://upnp-portmapper.sourceforge.net/
Level 1
New Miner
Posts: 29
Joined: 7/5/11

Post Permalink
by U4iK_HaZe » 8/3/2011

meissooo wrote:You should at least put where you got it from. "The Credits" and so on....

http://upnp-portmapper.sourceforge.net/



The credits are in the "About" tab of the program.
Image
Level 2
Apprentice Artist
Posts: 88
Joined: 6/30/11
Says: [the sun is mine]
Minecraft: U4iK_HaZe
mc_server: mc.u4ik.us

Post Permalink
by ForbiddenHunter » 8/13/2011

Intresting.. it says: WARN Could not connect to router: Did not find a router ...

That means I have either an unique or bad router :lol:
Haven't got port fowarding work with my router.. I don't know why.. tested many ways.
This could have been an easy way but no :|
User avatar
Level 7
Apprentice Archer
Posts: 5
Joined: 8/3/11
Location: Finland
Says: The next statement is true. The previous statement is false.
Minecraft: FINrusinapulla

Post Permalink
by U4iK_HaZe » 9/4/2011

ForbiddenHunter wrote:Intresting.. it says: WARN Could not connect to router: Did not find a router ...

That means I have either an unique or bad router :lol:
Haven't got port fowarding work with my router.. I don't know why.. tested many ways.
This could have been an easy way but no :|


Yeah, sorry to hear that. It's picky. By no means perfect. Maybe I'll add to the program my self and make a bigger list of routers. That'd be a fun project... NOT. But keep trying.
Image
Level 2
Apprentice Artist
Posts: 88
Joined: 6/30/11
Says: [the sun is mine]
Minecraft: U4iK_HaZe
mc_server: mc.u4ik.us

Next

Return to Server Help