I want to buy a minecraft server to play with my friends

ayyan67's Avatar ayyan6711/29/15 5:44 pm
1 emeralds 161 7
12/4/2015 1:45 pm
Alliantcraft's Avatar Alliantcraft
Me and my friends play modded minecraft through hamachi, but recently we've been having major lag issues while using it. So, we decided that I should buy a server so we can play without much lag. I'm completely new to dedicated servers. So, if I buy a server will I still be able to play with the mods we have on the hamachi server? If so how would I install these mods?
ayyan67
Level 1 : New Miner

Create an account or sign in to comment.

12/04/2015 1:45 pm
Level 3 : Apprentice Miner
Alliantcraft
I'm sure you probably know this but the more mods you run the more resources the server will consume. I would do plenty of research and read reviews of the hosting sites your interested in because some of them can be ripoffs and dont have very good servers. I've always used nfoservers.com. I honestly don't think you can find anything better than them, but Im probably being biased because I've never used any other hosting besides nfoservers.com
12/02/2015 6:16 pm
Level 31 : Artisan Pixel Puncher
Altitude Community
Most server hosting companies have a very extensive list of modpacks that you can run on your server. I have not worked with modded servers so I don't know if this is exactly what your looking for, but I do know that they have Tekkit and FeedtheBeast and what not.

Here is a quote from the Beastnode website:

"Install mods and mod packs. Run Tekkit, Feed the Beast, ATLauncher, and various other mod packs. Even install individual mods if desired!"

Every host I have worked with also gives you the option to use your own .jar if you choose. You will upload all of your files to the server and then you just have to go into the configuration and specify what .jar it should use to boot up. After that it should run exactly as it did on your own system.
12/02/2015 12:56 pm
Level 1 : New Mage
LittleFoxie