Will a GTX 1080 work in this build?

Scott's Avatar Scott7/23/16 2:48 am
1 emeralds 471 7
7/23/2016 7:20 am
Fureniku's Avatar Fureniku
Hello PCMR people,
I am a programmer, who has a basic knowledge / can build computers. There are many more of you here that understand this, so I feel this is the best place to ask.
My parents gave me £700 to buy a new grahpics card, after I got an irl award. So, I plan to get a GTX 1080, as I am currently sat with a R7 360.

So, the 1st thing I did was go on PcPartPicker and part together my PC, and just replace the graphics card. No warnings down below. Read the card length, and it will fit fine in the case (and if not, hacksaws exist ).

Here is my current build, but with the 1080:
Click to reveal
PCPartPicker part list / Price breakdown by merchant

CPU: AMD FX-6300 3.5GHz 6-Core Processor (£85.90 @ Amazon UK)
Motherboard: ASRock 970 Pro3 R2.0 ATX AM3+ Motherboard (£59.08 @ CCL Computers)
Memory: Patriot Signature 8GB (1 x 8GB) DDR3-1600 Memory (£28.99 @ Amazon UK)
Storage: Seagate Barracuda 1TB 3.5" 7200RPM Internal Hard Drive (£39.98 @ Novatech)
Video Card: MSI GeForce GTX 1080 8GB Founders Edition Video Card (£679.99 @ CCL Computers)
Case: BitFenix Neos Black/Silver ATX Mid Tower Case (£31.99 @ Overclockers.co.uk)
Power Supply: EVGA 500W 80+ Certified ATX Power Supply (£42.09 @ BT Shop)
Operating System: Microsoft Windows 10 Home OEM 64-bit
Case Fan: ARCTIC F12 PWM 74.0 CFM 120mm Fan (£5.49 @ Ebuyer)
Total: £973.51
Prices include shipping, taxes, and discounts when available
Generated by PCPartPicker 2016-07-23 07:46 BST+0100

Now I know this may not be practical, ok ish processer and cheap mobo, but I'm an idiot. So lets do it.

My true question is will it actually work? Does the mobo have correct something that I don't know about? Is there something that won't work hardware wise?
I don't want to just go and spend this much money this quickly, and want to be sure it works.
Scott
Level 39 : Artisan Droid