[WIP] Ideas for custom phone build - "Project Light"

CaptainRogue's Avatar CaptainRogue7/8/15 4:15 am
9/30/2015 2:28 pm
Bubz's Avatar Bubz
Hello everybody—

My name is CaptainRogue. I am a technology designer and developer and I am starting a new project called "Project Light". I plan this to be the process of building a light, easy to use smartphone using a custom OS designed for the phone's unique interface. I will be creating the phone's OS off of another simple phone operating system I have created.

This summer, I will have loads of time on my hands. I will be working on this phone and it's OS all summer long and I'm not sure if it will be finished by the end of summer. I'd like to have it done by the first day of eighth grade, as then I can show people that I can build phones and I can take my custom phone building company into business. I plan to build custom phones for $450 in 2016, as I am saving for some more expensive equipment that can help me speed up the process of designing, developing, and manufacturing a device such as Project Light.

Anyways, I am looking for ideas that will make the phone user friendly by design. Where should the wake button (more commonly known as the "lock" button on iPhones) be placed on the device? How do you hold your phone so often that it would make your day to have the lock button moved there?

I'd like this phone to have a very nice, crisp design so that it feels comfortable in a user's hand. The user shouldn't have to reach across the device to lock it, they should only have to move their finger a very short distance from the main touch screen to be able to lock the device.