How to grow a server?

Discuss the game, stories, screenshots, videos, ideas, creations, top score!?

Post Permalink
by eric1169 » 3/4/2017

Hi, I'm looking for some advise. I've had a server set up recently and gotten the basics that a server needs. I've made a simple website as well as uploaded it here (ip is thoushallnotplantcorn.fluctis.com:25781 if you want to see it.) Anyways I'm not getting any players and I am looking for advice. Preferably some personal experience would help.
Level 1
New Miner

Post Permalink
by NoxyTheHyena » 3/4/2017

I've been running a server for a few years and the most important thing I can tell you is build a community of likeminded people. Hold on to the players you do get.
It all starts with the people. Without the people, the server is an empty boat in a sea filled with other vessels. Not saying you have to bend over backwards for them, but keeping them happy is important. When I started my server, I had no intention on a big server with a bunch of players. Just started out as something fun to do with some friends. After a bit of advertising (keeping the server page here on PMC bumped and setting up votifier) people started coming and staying because they liked the atmosphere. I guess the best way for me to put it is you get out of it what you put into it if you play your cards right.
Level 26
Expert Ranger

Post Permalink
by Lexxonist » 3/4/2017

In my opinion, ADVERTISE, ADVERTISE, ADVERTISE, you can never do too much advertising, go advertise on spigotmc, minecraftforums, all those random server lists and also here, planetminecraft. If you feel brave you can even do the dreaded "Spam advertising" on servers, it honestly does work.
Level 17
Journeyman Dragonborn

Post Permalink
by eric1169 » 3/4/2017