General multiplayer info? (Bedrock)

Prowl33's Avatar Prowl331/22/18 11:01 am
1 emeralds 149 3
1/22/2018 4:07 pm
Prowl33's Avatar Prowl33
Hi, so I'm pretty new to minecraft (about 3 weeks in) and have the Xbox one edition, waiting for my free upgrade to bedrock to go through.

I'm learning a lot about the game, building redstone devices and such, but what I don't understand is the multiplayer which I haven't tried messing with at all yet. Is it mostly just to play with friends? Is there like a server list to choose from that people host? Is it mostly just for collaborative play to build cool and large projects together and that sort of thing? Are their large dedicated servers that you can kind of carve out your own little spot in and be part of a community in a sense?

I know java and bedrock are different, so I'm specifically looking for answers as it pertains to me playing bedrock from my Xbox one.
Prowl33
Level 1 : New Miner

Create an account or sign in to comment.

01/22/2018 4:07 pm
Level 1 : New Miner
Prowl33
Yeah normally I'm a pc gamer. We got it for the kids for their wii u first, me and my wife liked it a lot so got it for Xbox one so we could play split screen, then also the kids for their nintendo switch so we can play with the better together update all together.

I'm hoping some people here can confirm things for me like, if i make a world for me, the kids, and a friend, is that world always open to be played by any of us, or would the person that created it originally have to open it?

Once I get upgraded from Xbox one edition to better together (hoping Microsoft will get it done in the next couple days) will I have options of servers to choose with different purposes or rule sets similar to java? How about access to free skin and map pack downloads and that sort of stuff?
01/22/2018 2:34 pm
Level 57 : Grandmaster Engineer
ShelLuser