Is Minecraft going too far?

Roroo's Avatar Roroo5/31/19 3:16 pm
27 emeralds 4.2k 127
6/24/2019 10:40 am
Knux's Avatar Knux
Hello, people.

It's been a while since my last post. I am here to ask you - Minecraft gamers - what your thoughts are on the new updates on Minecraft, mostly 1.13 and 1.14.

Ever since I started playing Minecraft in 2012, I had kept watching the game grow and grow with its never-ending features and additions. I loved it all!

Until we reached 1.12. It was a nice colorful update which was followed up by - in my opinion - a catastrophic update which ruined the fun of playing "vanilla" Minecraft. It stopped feeling like I am playing what I used to play 2012. Of course the game won't grow without constant updates, but has Minecraft carried it too far?

What I had liked about Minecraft before was that it had two kinds of gameplays. A vanilla gameplay, and a modded gameplay, but now I see the developers on Minecraft are just taking every single mod idea there could ever be and adding it to the actual game.

Pillagers? Raids? I don't think this is what Minecraft's about.

What are your thoughts on this? Do you agree? Do you not? I'll be grateful if you're honest about it :D
Roroo
Level 43 : Master Pig

Create an account or sign in to comment.

05/31/2019 4:35 pm
Level 54 : Grandmaster Artist
QuinoaFalafel
I almost completely agree with you.

I feel like Minecraft has slowly but progressively been adding content that is directly aimed at the younger more numerous audience. Looking back, it probably actually did start when Microsoft got ownership. With each new update, I shook my head more and more at the things that they were adding. They seemed so trivial and gimmicky, not at all in the spirit of Minecraft.

Yet I did eventually warm up to each new update, to the point where I actually quite love Minecraft 1.13. But 1.14 went above and beyond what I thought they were capable of in terms of ruining Minecraft for me.