The *wrong* use of the term "Developer"

TreeOfYew's Avatar TreeOfYew9/24/14 7:51 am
1 emeralds 1.2k 38
9/30/2014 10:17 am
Craftable Danny's Avatar Craftable Danny
Ok so I have been around PlanetMinecraft for a good while now, just made an account.

So I keep on seeing these threads, they ask for a "Developer".

Being a bukkit Dev myself and looking for a place on a server who has Ideas I checked.

And it seems people are under what i see is a misconception of the word "Developer"

A Developer in the sense of the online Multiplayer community on MineCraft is someone that can create custom plugins in Java using the Bukkit API.

From what I can see people think that someone that Manages plugins is a Developer.

What you are looking for my friend is a Plugin Manager.

You are not a Developer

You are a Plugin Manager.

Comprende?

I don't mean for this post to seem aggressive or hostile, I just want to put out the notice, if you think I'm wrong feel free to reply to this thread:)

I made this because I found it frustrating that the word Developer is undermined, It takes some decent ability to create a good plugin using the Bukkit API and minipulating functionalities.

The wrong use of the word just frustrates me, but thankyou for reading this

Thanks.

- Yew
TreeOfYew
Level 15 : Journeyman Dragonborn

Create an account or sign in to comment.

09/30/2014 10:17 am
Level 42 : Master Batman
Craftable Danny
I like this post. I agree. I get annoyed when I want a developer and end up getting one who doesn't make plugins. I always ask them, "so configuring perms and such is developing?". Good topic.
09/30/2014 10:08 am
Level 52 : Grandmaster Dragonborn
luigi_vampa
Same thing with gamemodes. I've seen lots of ads for servers advertising all their wonderful game modes when in reality they've got the same as everyone else.
Survival, Creative, etc are game mode not Factions, PvP or whatever.
09/30/2014 10:15 am
Level 42 : Master Batman
Craftable Danny