Need some server suggestions

cherrytea's Avatar cherrytea9/8/19 6:59 pm
1 emeralds 112 2
9/10/2019 5:07 pm
cherrytea's Avatar cherrytea
Hey everyone wanted to ask some advice from people who are familiar with servers.. I'm gonna start a uh bukkit SMP server soon the only plugins i plan on having are like anti-griefing plugins so i can roll back any damage done and things like uh anti-xray i only plan to have like 4-5 plugins total probably otherwise it's gonna be vanilla minecraft which is the plan.. My question is how much ram do you really think id need as far as a server goes? I heard anti-xray plugins are resource heavy and can rape your server as far as like resources go.. I'm also open to suggestions as far as purchasing a virtual minecraft server hosting goes.. I'm not very good with the whole understanding of how much ram id need to make this happen i don't really assume much though since the servers gonna be pretty lightweight very little plugins, spawn protection with command blocks and everything else is vanilla.. I've also considered buying a VPS instead of a minecraft server hosting service as i might be able to get more ram for cheaper.. All replies and suggestions are highly appreciated.. Thanks <3
cherrytea
Level 1 : New Miner

Create an account or sign in to comment.

09/09/2019 9:09 am
Level 32 : Artisan Pirate
ZonkedCompanion
Look at
- CoreProtect - logging and rollbacks
- Matrix - anti cheat
- OreReplacer - stops xray

As for ram, depends entirely on the server version, installed plugins, and online players. You could probably get 10-15 players on a 2gb server 1.13.2 server comfortably.

In terms of hosting its up to you what route you take and depends what budget you have. If you are just running a vanilla server alone then minecraft hosting may be the way, if you need mysql database and a website then a VPS may be better. With either I would recommend you ensure they have SSD storage though.