forum Forumsplay_arrow PMC fiber_manual_record Discussion

Advice on School

1 emerald46 replies1,129 views
created 09/30/2014 10:53 pm by Roer
last reply 10/04/2014 5:30 am
I am a student, and I go to a school where the teachers think we know nothing about our legal rights! We were even told that our only rights when we were in school were to go to the bathroom and eat.I'm thinking of sitting near the detention bench, close to one of my friends who always gets detention because she is over-scheduled and can't find time to do her homework, but I need something to say if the staff members ask me what I'm doing. I honestly don't want to be rude, but I want a valid reason. And don't tell me to talk to the principle, she posts stuff on, er, certain social media, saying things like "When you're talking, I might be smiling and nodding, but I'm really thinking shut the *insert swear word here* up." Also, it's in school detention, if we get it, we get our free time taken away and we just have to sit there. This is also violating district rules, as they have not authorized in school detention. This is just a quick edit to clarify a few things.
Posted by avatar
Roer
Level 13 : Journeyman Artist

46 replies

10/04/2014 5:30 am
Level 20 : Expert Princess
arlodee
I feel that school detention violates the peaceful teaching principle. They should be asking why your friend is over scheduled and how they can help fix that and maybe provide them with a fixture so that they are organised. I've seen it implemented before, and it works instead of sending someone to detention without asking what issues they were facing. I have experienced something similar. I have a friend who was sent to detention for not doing his work because he didn't like it being forced upon him. It took 3 weeks for the staff to work out a compromise with him.