What is data packs biggest weakness?

Raandom's Avatar Raandom9/12/21 11:40 am history
4 emeralds 1.5k 33
9/17/2021 9:59 pm
HoboMaggot's Avatar HoboMaggot
Data packs are wonderful, giving us near or even parallel to a modded minecraft experience. But the more you play with them, the more you see its limits, issues, and how you wish to just go back to mods.
I'm fairly new to data packs, since I left minecraft for a long time and returned earlier this year. I've seen it for a while...

Why am I even writing this its late. Vote on the poll on what you think data pack's biggest weakness, or comment if its missing.
Also dont vote any mobs on minecraft live your bound to upset someone.

Adding some explanation from my comments..

Installation
The only way to install without needing to open your saves folder is during world creation. And if you want to use the same pack in every world you have to enjoy doing the exact same thing over and over again.

Custom items/blocks/ui/entity
Custom blocks will lag your game if you place a lot of them, custom crafting is done via knowledge book (better than a long time ago). GUI are limited. Entity animation made from multiple entities.The fact that these aren't actually real and is done via workarounds make them limited and not ideal.

Bugs
I'm not referring to the pack dev's bugs (though that perspective is fine), I'm referring to what devs can't fix, and Mojang wouldn't (yet) care. If you join starmute discord (creator of terralith, incendium, and nullscape) there are bugs that he can't fix. Like how every world with terralith have a set seed, and adding new biomes for updates may break existing worlds, etc.

THANK YOU SO MUCH TO EVERYONE WHO PARTICIPATED!