Minecraft / Mods

LookAtMySkin v1.0 - Skin Previewer and Poser

  • 138 Diamonds
  • 13,319 views, 25 today
  • 1,323 downloads, 1 today
  • 88 comments
  • 89 favorites
  • 138
  • 89
  • comment88
  • playlist_add
  • share
  • more_horiz
avatar Good
Level 43 : Master Pony
463
LookAtMySkin is a skin previewer I have created with Unity which supports all skin types!

Download from Dropbox:

Download
(Windows)

Download (Mac)

Features:
  • Instant refresh upon hitting spacebar
  • Limb posing and zoom
  • Background color changing
  • Screenshot

How to use:

Please tell me what you think and if you have any big issues! Thanks.

The source code for this Unity project is now on Github.
CreditUnity
Progress100% complete
Game VersionMinecraft 1.8.1
Tags

5 Update Logs

Update #5 : 05/06/2018 1:07:05 amMay 6th, 2018

The source code is now on Github. 1.7 model no longer culls the backfaces on arms/body/legs.
LOAD MORE LOGS

Comments : 88

star Login or register to post a comment.

Show Comments

1 - 50 of 88

Finally found a useful model viewer, thank you!
  • Good
  • Level 43
  • Master Pony
  • September 3, 2018, 4:47 pm
yw
Hey, guess what? This program works perfectly, on my budget laptop and without having to install anything special! I used this program to make my newest forum avatar (my character giving a playful glance to the viewer). It's nice to have a program that's a direct upgrade to Minecraft Skin Viewer Extended (which only supports Classic skins).

Big kudos, mah man! This is gonna help so much, with making skins and skin previews!
(I never really tried to work with MCEdit 3D, hee hee.)
  • Mar3kCz
  • Level 13
  • Journeyman Warrior
  • May 7, 2018, 6:39 am
Not bad
  • Shireen
  • Level 67
  • High Grandmaster Pokemon
  • October 4, 2017, 7:50 am
This is a great skin viewer and the only one I've found that works on Mac OS - good job!
  • Avarikk
  • Level 58
  • Grandmaster Skinner
  • September 16, 2017, 1:04 am
I want to say, that i love your simple skin viewer, but I have one concern. Since 1.9 minecraft supports semi-transparency on hat layer.
For now it looks like your program doesn't support transparency.
this is how one of my skins looks in MCSkin3D ---> https://i.imgur.com/mn3mQks.png
and this is how it looks in LookAtMySkin ---> https://i.imgur.com/qlBwq8T.png.
On the second screenshot glasses are non transparent. My question is, if you still support this program, will ther be update to change this issue?
  • Good
  • Level 43
  • Master Pony
  • October 5, 2017, 6:31 pm
I never found a way to fix this. Would probably need to write a custom shader, but I don't know how.
  • Nze_
  • Level 8
  • Apprentice Network
  • April 15, 2017, 2:31 am
what to use ?
  • Good
  • Level 43
  • Master Pony
  • April 15, 2017, 11:42 am
I'm going to assume you're asking what program you should use to edit skins? I personally use Paint.NET, it's free. You could also try Gimp, another free program.
  • Nze_
  • Level 8
  • Apprentice Network
  • April 15, 2017, 7:17 pm
ty
  • Allergy_Man
  • Level 51
  • Grandmaster Meme
  • April 13, 2017, 6:11 am
No download?
  • Good
  • Level 43
  • Master Pony
  • April 14, 2017, 10:38 pm
Good catch, I totally forgot to update these links when dropbox nuked its public folder support -- fixing now.
  • Fantastic
  • Level 30
  • Artisan Sweetheart
  • December 11, 2016, 12:50 pm
Thank. You. So. Much.
  • KnobleKnives
  • Retired Moderator
  • Level 68
  • High Grandmaster Lad
  • November 18, 2016, 11:38 am
Dude, thanks so much for making this.
  • jackalope510
  • Level 5
  • Apprentice Miner
  • November 13, 2016, 5:30 am
Are these all skins you have made
  • Good
  • Level 43
  • Master Pony
  • November 13, 2016, 11:04 am
yes
  • Deeno
  • Retired Moderator
  • Level 44
  • Master Gent
  • November 13, 2016, 1:21 am
99 diamonds ;o
  • Vincent _1987
  • Level 56
  • Grandmaster Meme
  • November 13, 2016, 12:32 am
Help! I can't use this properly! So I renamed a skin to edit1.8Alex, I started the previewer, then once the skin is loaded, it goes away in a second! If I resize my window I can see it again for another second. What's going on?
  • Good
  • Level 43
  • Master Pony
  • November 13, 2016, 11:04 am
Which version are you using? Did you save the skin with 32 bit depth? What is your operating system? Can you send me the skin file you were using with it?
As for now, my laptop is borrowed but I can't see the skins that came with the mod either (the original edits) .
  • Cicada
  • Level 7
  • Apprentice Crafter
  • November 8, 2016, 4:35 pm
will you make this for mobile too?
I have a problem: No matter which skin I edit with one of my skins it has always the armor hat over it and its white ? I don't understand it because i never colored it white. So basically I can see nothing than white
  • Good
  • Level 43
  • Master Pony
  • October 7, 2016, 3:44 pm
What image editing program are you using? It needs to support transparency and you need to save the skin with bit depth of 32. (Bit-depth is not resolution)

If you are unsure how to save it as 32-bit, just add some partially translucent part to the skin and if that saves properly, it is 32-bit.
I got paint and how to add transparency ?
  • Good
  • Level 43
  • Master Pony
  • October 10, 2016, 6:06 pm
You can't use paint for skins. It doesn't support transparency. Try Gimp or Paint.NET.

If you have paint.NET you can use the magic wand to select areas then hit delete key to make that area transparent. (Or just eraser tool) Probably similar in Gimp.
omg thank you it works ! :)
one more question: is there a way to make the transparancy faster because it took me like 15 minutes to delete the pixels i dont need
  • DrECH0
  • Level 6
  • Apprentice Architect
  • March 16, 2016, 5:22 am
Do it support HD skins?
  • Good
  • Level 43
  • Master Pony
  • March 16, 2016, 7:38 pm
Yes.
  • Drazile
  • Level 77
  • Legendary Pokemon
  • March 15, 2016, 10:00 pm
Is an update to allow for the new transparent 1.9 layers in the works? ;)
  • Good
  • Level 43
  • Master Pony
  • March 16, 2016, 7:38 pm
I'll have to look into it.
  • KnobleKnives
  • Retired Moderator
  • Level 68
  • High Grandmaster Lad
  • March 15, 2016, 7:20 pm
Dude, this is epic!
  • Lucy_the_Cow
  • Level 35
  • Artisan Ladybug
  • October 9, 2015, 7:43 pm
I love the program! :D However, I've found for some reason if I run it for a long amount of time (over 5 mins, I believe) it crashes my PC. It's strange, as I never had problems with the program until recently.
  • Deeno
  • Retired Moderator
  • Level 44
  • Master Gent
  • July 7, 2015, 3:25 am
I don't get it... How do you put your own skins in the program?
  • Good
  • Level 43
  • Master Pony
  • July 7, 2015, 4:02 pm
The program looks for the skin files named "edit1.7.png", "edit1.8.png", and "edit1.8Alex.png" and uses those in the previewer. To look at your own skins, edit those files so that they have your skins in them.
  • Shireen
  • Level 67
  • High Grandmaster Pokemon
  • October 4, 2017, 7:47 am
This should be stated clearly in the instructions
  • Good
  • Level 43
  • Master Pony
  • October 5, 2017, 6:22 pm
Edited the instructions. Thanks!
how to edit that ? :c
  • Kefka
  • Level 87
  • Elite War Lord
  • June 28, 2015, 10:20 am
Love the program so far, a transparent background option would be the only other thing it really needs. 
Also, a better skin open feature would be much easier and user friendly. I suggest a drop down open menu like the example below: 
click the open button, then the 3 different skin formats appear and you click on one of those, then it goes to a browse and you select your skin file there.
  • Good
  • Level 43
  • Master Pony
  • June 28, 2015, 1:35 pm
Unfortunately, Unity doesn't support file browsing. Otherwise I would have definitely made a less odd way of picking the skins.

I'm not exactly sure what you mean by transparent background. Do you mean the background would actually be clear and show whatever's behind that window in it? Example
  • Kefka
  • Level 87
  • Elite War Lord
  • June 28, 2015, 1:43 pm
I ment after you saved the image, the background would be transparent. example
I just noticed you don't have a save function so I guess the real thing I would want is a save function that would save an image with a transparent background, like the example above. I don't think you can do a transparent background with a screen capture.
edit: Also, a better way to load your skin would be to drag the skin file into your program like in the old software "Minecraft Skin Viewer"
First ever MAC skin preview application. Thanks SO Much!
  • Zitzabis
  • Site Moderator
  • Level 70
  • Legendary Gent
  • June 23, 2015, 8:14 pm
With the cycling of skins, it's annoying to have to rename the skin to match every time. Can you add a 4th option which is a wildcard and will just display any 4th .png that's in there?
If this works with 1.8, I will love you forever!
Edit: I love you forever!
I'm maybe gonna use it, very handy! :) <3
  • Darxy
  • Level 16
  • Journeyman Artist
  • June 19, 2015, 9:00 am
Really Cool and handy! XD
+ 1 Diamond
+ 1 Favorite
  • BIO
  • Site Moderator
  • Level 47
  • Master Gent
  • June 18, 2015, 8:49 am
Very handy thanks for making this :D
I love your mod, can I make a cover for for it? You won't have to use it if you won't like it.
  • Leostereo
  • Level 85
  • Elite Meme
  • June 17, 2015, 3:53 pm
Pretty much exactly the kind of software I was looking for. Before I had to literally upload my skin privately to Planet Minecraft to get a decent 3D preview with the 1.8 layers (Paril's MCSkin3D just didn't do very well, sorry!). This however, solves everything. Many thanks!

Two questions/suggestions though:

1. Are the layers representative to the true in-game look? Somehow they feel much closer to the body, at least compared to the PMC preview. The distance between the head layers and the body layers seem different too, not sure if that's intentional.

2. Would it be possible for a live preview, or is it a limit for the software? Having it update as soon as I press ctrl-s would be exactly everything I could ever want for a previewer!

But again, many thanks for this software, will help a lot! :)
  • Good
  • Level 43
  • Master Pony
  • June 17, 2015, 4:22 pm
Glad it's helpful!

1. The layers are, to the best of my ability, accurate. Sadly, the PMC preview and MCSkin3D have inaccurate armor layers that are larger than in the real game. And yes, the head layer is larger comparatively compared to the rest of the armor layers. This is how it is in the game.

2. It would be possible for a live preview actually, but I chose to make the skins refresh by hitting spacebar because I personally love to be able to see the old skin and then see the changes apply when I hit a button, instead of opening the program and it's already updated. It helps me to decide if an edit I've made looks nicer.

I could add a key that turns on a live update mode though. I'll send you a message after I've added that feature.
  • Leostereo
  • Level 85
  • Elite Meme
  • June 17, 2015, 4:28 pm
Yeah, a key to toggle would be a great addition!

Also, um, any idea why my skin suddenly looks like this? :s http://i.imgur.com/j2MXpV4.png

+1 for anyone who can guess who it is! ;) Although I'm not sure if I should finish it, haha.
  • XSSheep
  • Level 68
  • High Grandmaster Pixel Puncher
  • June 18, 2015, 1:22 am
You better finish good ol' smough!

I don't think I've seen a smough skin I liked yet and he needs some love. Everyone just does ornstein instead.
  • Leostereo
  • Level 85
  • Elite Meme
  • June 18, 2015, 4:59 am
Yesss, I found a layout that's kinda working, so I'll see if I can make something decent of it.
  • Good
  • Level 43
  • Master Pony
  • June 17, 2015, 4:51 pm
What the heck... does it fix if you restart the program? I'm a beginner at making this stuff and programming in general, so I really don't know what's happening there.
  • Leostereo
  • Level 85
  • Elite Meme
  • June 17, 2015, 5:10 pm
No, restarting doesn't fix it.

I kinda found what's causing it, but have no idea why it happens. If I fill the inner left leg 5 pixels from the bottom the problem disappears. Yeah.

I did not touch the inner left leg when the bug appeared (but is the only way I can make it disappear). I was only working on the 3D layer of the legs.

http://i.imgur.com/WzagJlO.png
  • Good
  • Level 43
  • Master Pony
  • September 2, 2015, 5:49 pm
So I've been playing around with it some more and I think I've found the cause. If you're saving the image in paint.NET and you have the image bit depth set to "auto detect", it'll sometimes switch the bit-depth to "8 bit." This causes the program to not read the file properly since it assumes the image is 32-bit.
  • Gealx3
  • Level 61
  • High Grandmaster Artist
  • June 17, 2015, 3:40 pm
Sees this mod 0.0 . Crashing on startup. Extremely frustrated. What's life. I'm dead. I swear if my stupid laptop is responsible for this I will throw it with all my might out the window. Crash report: Hope this helps.
  • Drazile
  • Level 77
  • Legendary Pokemon
  • June 16, 2015, 9:05 pm
i get that xssheep reference :3

Anyway, you should make it so that you can zoom with the right mouse button, like in MCSkin3D, and a way to change the current skin without restarting.
  • Good
  • Level 43
  • Master Pony
  • June 16, 2015, 9:26 pm
You do?

XSSheep specifically requested a cyan background while I was talking to him on skype about it. Not sure how you could have seen that. :P
  • Drazile
  • Level 77
  • Legendary Pokemon
  • June 16, 2015, 10:33 pm
Oh, I thought it was because the sky in Pixel Perfection (his resource pack) is that exact colour :S
  • XSSheep
  • Level 68
  • High Grandmaster Pixel Puncher
  • June 17, 2015, 4:38 am
I didn't even think about that... I just really wanted cyan as a background colour! :P
  • Good
  • Level 43
  • Master Pony
  • June 16, 2015, 10:34 pm
Well, that was a good guess!
  • Drzzter
  • Forum Moderator
  • Level 65
  • High Grandmaster Snark
  • June 16, 2015, 7:31 pm
[Ode to Joy intensifies]
  • Good
  • Level 43
  • Master Pony
  • June 16, 2015, 7:37 pm
Again? Someone' going to have to turn that song down before it bursts our eardrums.
  • Arty
  • Level 6
  • Apprentice Grump
  • June 16, 2015, 7:01 pm
damn you've been busy.
  • mica3916
  • Level 1
  • New Network
  • June 16, 2015, 6:22 pm
you should add a way to capture the image.. i dont know how to use animation programs and this is very cool, a way to capture would be good
  • Good
  • Level 43
  • Master Pony
  • June 16, 2015, 6:30 pm
While focusing on the program window, hit Alt + PrtScn

Then, use ctrl + v to paste the image into whatever image editor you use. (or any software that supports pasting images, really.)
  • mica3916
  • Level 1
  • New Network
  • June 16, 2015, 6:47 pm
it doesnt work on my PC, i tried
  • mica3916
  • Level 1
  • New Network
  • June 16, 2015, 7:12 pm
dont worry, i found a program to make screenshots
  • Zitzabis
  • Site Moderator
  • Level 70
  • Legendary Gent
  • June 16, 2015, 7:04 pm
Try pressing just Prt Scn
[Ode to Joy intensifies]
  • Ash
  • Site Moderator
  • Level 63
  • High Grandmaster Button Pusher
  • June 16, 2015, 5:58 pm
hmmm. Might see if I can get it working with Wine. Looks super neat!
ugh yes finally with 1.8 layers o;;;;;;
  • Speedy
  • Level 49
  • Master Blob
  • June 16, 2015, 5:51 pm
lazy cover image q:
I'll surely check this out :D
  • Good
  • Level 43
  • Master Pony
  • June 16, 2015, 7:06 pm
But I even added drop shadows

1 - 50 of 88

Show Comments

Planet Minecraft

Browse

Site

© 2010 - 2019
planetminecraft.com

Welcome