How to get 24/7 server free

Discuss the game, stories, screenshots, videos, ideas, creations, top score!?

Post Permalink
by TwistedRazzor » 2/21/2013

Hello, im wondering if it is possible to make your minecraft server 24/7 but use the RAM thats on your PC, because i dont want to pay for a server when i have perfectly good RAM on my PC anyway. But i can i make it 24/7?

Dont think this makes sense but oh well
User avatar
Level 12
Journeyman Narwhal
Posts: 301
Joined: 1/22/13
Location: Scotland
Minecraft: TwistedRazzor

Post Permalink
by SinizterDzine » 2/21/2013

RAM and Specs please?
Image
User avatar
Level 43
Master Network
Posts: 2394
Joined: 11/17/11
Location: Ohio, USA
Says: If you ever need help I've been on PMC for a while so just message me! :)
Minecraft: N/A
mc_server: N/A

Post Permalink
by TwistedRazzor » 2/21/2013

Something along the lines of this
Spoiler
3.6GHz Intel Celeron G550 2-Core CPU
Gigabyte GA-H61MA-D2V Motherboard
NVIDIA GeForce GT 620 1GB Graphics Card
1TB Sata III Hard Drive
16GB DDR3 1333MHz RAM
Microsoft Windows 7 64bit
CiT 450W PSU
24x DVD-RW Optical Drive
150MBs USB Wireless Network WiFi Adaptor
AOC N950SW 18.5" Widescreen TFT LCD Monitor
Gigabyte 6150 Wired Optical Mouse & Keyboard Set
Gigabyte S4600 USB 2.0 Speakers
User avatar
Level 12
Journeyman Narwhal
Posts: 301
Joined: 1/22/13
Location: Scotland
Minecraft: TwistedRazzor

Post Permalink
by Yeaf » 2/21/2013

Its about your download and upload speed. RAM isn't everything. When someone brakes a block it needs to update that on the server. Whats your download and upload speeds?
Image

Image

Image
User avatar
Level 1
New Crafter
Posts: 142
Joined: 2/9/13

Post Permalink
by TwistedRazzor » 2/21/2013

Download 6.02 upload 0.67
User avatar
Level 12
Journeyman Narwhal
Posts: 301
Joined: 1/22/13
Location: Scotland
Minecraft: TwistedRazzor

Post Permalink
by TwistedRazzor » 2/21/2013

I have a server im just wondering can i make it 24/7 without using DaddyCheese etc etc
User avatar
Level 12
Journeyman Narwhal
Posts: 301
Joined: 1/22/13
Location: Scotland
Minecraft: TwistedRazzor

Post Permalink
by Shinkachu » 2/21/2013

No.
User avatar
Level 20
Expert Dragon
Posts: 13
Joined: 6/30/12

Post Permalink
by SinizterDzine » 2/21/2013

TwistedRazzor wrote:I have a server im just wondering can i make it 24/7 without using DaddyCheese etc etc


Well. Not really. Unless you want to leave your PC and the server up.
Image
User avatar
Level 43
Master Network
Posts: 2394
Joined: 11/17/11
Location: Ohio, USA
Says: If you ever need help I've been on PMC for a while so just message me! :)
Minecraft: N/A
mc_server: N/A

Post Permalink
by Yeaf » 2/21/2013

Haha, your download and upload speeds are not really suitable for a server. It would lag like hell when you get about 5 people.
Image

Image

Image
User avatar
Level 1
New Crafter
Posts: 142
Joined: 2/9/13

Post Permalink
by SinizterDzine » 2/21/2013

[quote="Yeaf"]Haha, your download and upload speeds are not really suitable for a server. It would lag like hell when you get about 5 people.[/quote]

Tisk tisk tisk,

Yeaf. Like you told me, it doesn't depend on one thing. ;)

He could have terrible upload/download, and amazing RAM which would balance it out.

I have 16gb of RAM and only 1.38 Upload and Download 8.61
Image
User avatar
Level 43
Master Network
Posts: 2394
Joined: 11/17/11
Location: Ohio, USA
Says: If you ever need help I've been on PMC for a while so just message me! :)
Minecraft: N/A
mc_server: N/A

Post Permalink
by Teckhe » 2/21/2013

The Way I Could Keep My Server 24/7 For Free Is Use My Old Laptop And Keep It Open Forever Until I Don't Want The Server Anymore.
Image
Halp Mah Eggs Grow Into Big Fat Dragons!
Image Image Image
User avatar
Level 23
Expert Unicorn
Posts: 46
Joined: 10/25/12
Location: Cloudsdale, Equestria
Says: Rack City, Bitch.
Minecraft: Teckhe
mc_server: herpaderp.lolserver.netcomorg

Post Permalink
by Yeaf » 2/21/2013

SinizterDzine wrote:
Yeaf wrote:Haha, your download and upload speeds are not really suitable for a server. It would lag like hell when you get about 5 people.


Tisk tisk tisk,

Yeaf. Like you told me, it doesn't depend on one thing. ;)

He could have terrible upload/download, and amazing RAM which would balance it out.

I have 16gb of RAM and only 1.38 Upload and Download 8.61

I'm sorry to say that your upload and download speeds are more important.
Image

Image

Image
User avatar
Level 1
New Crafter
Posts: 142
Joined: 2/9/13

Next

Return to Discussion