Computer Messed Up!! Help!!

EnderMiner77's Avatar EnderMiner778/29/14 6:08 pm
8/30/2014 9:34 pm
searchndstroy's Avatar searchndstroy
I have a 64 bit windows 7 pc and recently, after installing some software, became unable to open files, and I get a file system error. Later, I couldnt open cmd, getting a vague "application couldnt start". I tried opening safe mode, but have no idea how to, so i ended up spamming f8 on startup. Now it won't evenlet me get to the login screen, it just gets frozen on the welcome page. I am not very experienced with the new windows versions, so i have no idea what to do. Please help!
EnderMiner77
Level 68 : High Grandmaster Programmer

Create an account or sign in to comment.

08/30/2014 9:34 pm
Level 14 : Journeyman Modder
searchndstroy
Something about a disk error?
HHD might have died on ya. (I know mine is, and things are getting pretty whacky)
08/30/2014 9:29 pm
Level 6 : Apprentice Miner
FCCAGut
I recommend booting off a Ubuntu disk and run palimpsest and do a SMART check.

If SMART detects no errors or you have issues in doing this, reply here. I'll keep this bookmarked for our convenience
08/29/2014 8:42 pm
Level 27 : Expert Sweetheart
Exoh
Guys his computer is just dead in general now. It can't enter the bios it just freezes at the welcome screen. All I can say now is buy a windows disk or a new computer.
08/29/2014 8:28 pm
Level 1 : New Miner
Jadon2001
Shove a potato into your floppy disk drive if you don't have a floopy disk drive your screwed

Ok realy what you gotta do is download a virus scanner if you can and then run it on the computer with a auto run flash drive or something then it will scan and you can get rid of them hopefuly it will work cant tell with out seeing it
08/29/2014 8:24 pm
Level 56 : Grandmaster Pyro
Supernova666
How to start in Safe Mode.
Once in Safe Mode do a clean boot:
  1. Log on to the computer by using an account that has administrator rights.