I want to snap out of my building style!

Mellorine's Avatar Mellorine4/26/15 1:49 pm
5/11/2015 12:55 pm
bob_2_MC's Avatar bob_2_MC
Hello everyone!

Im Mellorine, and im a medieval builder.
I've been playing for a while and im quite good. Tho, i want to snap out of my building style and create something new and original.
These are some previous builds (plots): http://bunchiebay.imgur.com/

So I need personal tips on how to create something original and new, thanks a lot!

Happy building!

P.S, if you got questions, just ask them below.
Server? play.athion.net
Mellorine
Level 3 : Apprentice Crafter

Create an account or sign in to comment.

05/11/2015 12:55 pm
Level 37 : Artisan Lego Builder
bob_2_MC
You got some skills man. I would suggest look at a build that is totally out of your style. In this case that would be something with more structure and less detail.
Here are a few suggestions:
http://www.planetminecraft.com/project/ ... es-dreams/
http://www.planetminecraft.com/project/ ... ng-hub-10/
http://www.planetminecraft.com/project/ ... rial-city/

Good luck and keep building!
04/27/2015 2:51 pm
Level 1 : New Explorer
Masque
Your builds at the moment contain very similar blocks. If you wanted to mix things up a bit- try using different materials that still have a satisfying contrast. For example, if you wanted to keep a medieval style, log and wool together can be quite complementary. As for lack of structural ideas... When I can't think of anything to build, the best thing I find to do is to look at pictures of real buildings. Sometimes even when your walking around or in the car, see how the interesting houses have little things like odd beams and archways. The most important thing to keep in mind trying to come up with something original is to not forget details. Making any old house is one thing- but getting the inspiration to think of unique details and structure is another.
04/27/2015 3:15 pm
Mellorine
Aight, i will remember that, thanks mate ^^