I'm Ponch, minecraft player and gamer of over 20 years

DrummerJacob's Avatar DrummerJacob3/29/14 12:14 am
1 emeralds 234 3
3/29/2014 1:33 am
DrummerJacob's Avatar DrummerJacob
Hello all, Im Ponch. And while being 30 years old might be considered old in Minecraft, it doesn't feel so old. What it does mean is I have been playing games like SimCity, Warcraft and Starcraft since before half (or more) of you were even born!

Now think about that for a minute. I've been playing games since like 1991. I remember my first game ever was MS Golf for Windows 3.1 And when that got old I would open up paint brush on my (.486/66 processor with 256mb of HD space [NOT RAM]) computer and I would sit there and draw roads with a black paintbrush thats like 10 pixels wide, and then I would get a yellow line down the middle, and make a road. Then I would draw square houses and things that could somehow visibly represent a city of sorts.

This is the fun that I could have back then, it was more creative because there was nothing. You had to imagine.

That is what I like about minecraft and thats why I have literally become stuck to this game since I found out about it about 2 years ago. The second I opened up minecraft, my childhood flashed before my eyes, yet this time I had a chance to go back and do it all over again with much better tools in a 3-d environment.

You can't appreciate games like Minecraft until you've had an experience like that, where you are literally just re-interpreting colored squares in a .bmp image for fun, and then years later all the sudden this is in a 3d world with multiplayer and mods and plugins and all that. WOW

Anyway, if anyone would like to see where my inspirations have taken me, feel free to have a look around my survival/city rpg server called Metropolis City:

142.54.161.35:30069
metropoliscity.enjin.com (screenshots in the gallery if you dont want to log on)