Redstone Computers [Official]

Phrozenbit's Avatar Phrozenbit5/14/12 11:36 pm
1 emeralds 5.2k 141
2/13/2013 10:57 am
PengoPenguinRocks's Avatar PengoPenguinRocks
So i was searching the forums for a while looking for a good topic on Redstone computer creation, and could not really find what i was looking for.

I am somewhat new to creating computers and already have done a fair amount of work and research on it. I am currently working on a third version of my Redstone computer, because, admittedly i have in a way failed at my first two attempt, although it taught me much.

So why this topic one may ask, well i am looking for people that are willing to discuss certain elements of the Redstone computer, such as RAM, Instruction set design, program counters and busing for example.

This topic should be for people that either want to learn about how to build Redstone Computers and it's components, or for the ones that already have a lot of experience and want to share their knowledge to beginning builders.

I have started this topic to learn more, gain experience in computer technology, and to avoid massively filling up the comment section on a project page
I would also be happy to share what I already have learned of course.

You may want to read up on some information if you want to seriously participate in this topic. I'm sure there will be lot's of questions, so i will be directing you guys back to the first post.

You absolutely need to have a basic understanding of binary to start with:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Binary_numeral_system

Some basic understanding of Bitwise operations could come in handy:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bitwise_operation

Read up on the subject ALU:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Arithmetic_logic_unit

The computers here are roughly based on the RISC architecture:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Reduced_instruction_set_computing

Don't forget the minecraft wiki on how to build these logic gates with redstone: