What would be a good skin for a beginner to make?

Novachii's Avatar Novachii1/1/15 2:24 pm
1/6/2015 11:23 am
Crescendo's Avatar Crescendo
I guess the title says most of it.
I'm new to skinning, I'd like to give it a try, but I don't know what to make.
I considered making myself, but I honestly don't look that interesting and I'd rather make something people other than myself would maybe wanna use.

Any not-super-hard ideas?
Novachii
Level 5 : Apprentice Explorer

Create an account or sign in to comment.

Crescendo
01/06/2015 11:23 am
Level 81 : Elite Witch
Hair is my favorite part! (cuz colours) I first skinned using noise, and then I went to randomly darkening and lightening pixels until eventually I just sat down and experimented with just the hair on one skin (seeing what different techniques I liked).

Personally I'd just practice for hair and what WTFshady said about the highlights ^^
Novachii
01/06/2015 8:58 am
Thanks.

Yeah, the hair is still giving me tons of trouble. And I see now that the arms are perhaps a bit too light when it comes to the shading and suck.

I think you're right about me having a simplistic style. Truth is, I've looked at a lot of skins recently in order to see what style I liked and such, and I found many styles too complicated for me. Not too complicated to replicate, but too complicated looking, if that makes sense. I guess I'm a simple gal :3
WTFshady
01/06/2015 10:28 am
Level 31 : Artisan Dragonborn
Apparently you are.
WTFshady
01/06/2015 8:25 am
Novachii
WTFshady: I'm still not quite sure what you meant by the hair shading not being my style. Do I even have a style yet?

I updated the 'me' skin now, took away the noise in the pants and most of the shirt. I do feel like the orange needs to be noisy, in order to not clash completely with the blue.
Also removed the hair from the outter layer like you said.

Here's the link again: http://www.planetminecraft.com/skin/novachii---nerdy-girl-aka-myself/