Quick Question

Killertoad's Avatar Killertoad8/14/15 3:07 am
8/14/2015 8:28 pm
Johnanater's Avatar Johnanater

Does anyone know why this computer would be overheating? Who can spot the issue?
Killertoad
Level 22 : Expert Crafter

Create an account or sign in to comment.

08/14/2015 6:21 pm
Level 14 : Journeyman Modder
searchndstroy
Ab Aeterno
Killertoad-snip-

Does anyone know why this computer would be overheating? Who can spot the issue?

Holy...

For starters, it's a pretty old CPU with a manufacturing process which is 4nm larger than today's standard, which makes it much worse at cooling. Aside from that, you have a core voltage of 2.856V, why? Did you OC it insanely high? I have no experience with older processors so I don't know if that's it's stock voltage but that's very high, which is most likely causing a lot of your issues.

In physical terms, check your cooling fans and vents and literally just clean them out. Make sure there's nothing clogging your fans.

KillertoadFor anyone that doesn't understand, 2.85v is insanely high. Stock for this said CPU is 1v-ish. For most haswell CPU's, 1.35ish is the max for a high overclock. 1.8v will fry a CPU beyond repair, and well, you can imagine what 2.85v will do to a CPU. You will be able to smell the CPU from a block away, lol.

I just wanted to see who would notice the issue, and who was just trying to be helpful. A few people here knew the issue, but didn't comment on the issue lol.

P.S. The cpu really isn't running at 2.85v, the sensor in the motherboard of CPU is bad and is putting this insane number out. I've never seen a CPU higher than 1.35v till this one haha.

Killertoad
SearchndstroySupplying too much power? I don't see a 2.6GHz clock requiring 2.8Volts...
Then again I don't work with hardware.

Wow you don't work with hardware yet give such a great observation?

Magic!
08/14/2015 5:56 pm
Level 22 : Expert Modder
Lacuna Corporation
Killertoad

Holy...