Question about using mods on home server

Taledus's Avatar Taledus3/25/13 2:31 pm
1 emeralds 101 5
3/27/2013 1:18 pm
Taledus's Avatar Taledus
Sorry for the vague topic, but I am completely new to running a lan server for me and my son to play. Single player mode I can easily install the mods found on this site and have them work, such as the backpack mod, using Minecraft Forge. When I began running the server on the lan though, I was unable to find a successful way to get them to run on the server, and when I would use the backpack mod, I could craft a backpack, but then it would not allow me to add it to inventory, yet it would still work in single player mode.

I have not been successful installing the mods the same way into the server file, by opening with winrar and dropping in the new files from the mod, as the server states that there is a java error and won't startup.

So I installed Craftbukkit, and the backpack plugin for it, but is uses commands in order to get to the backpack, which is difficult for my son to use. Also, there are some of the mods on here that I'd like to use for our home game, but cannot locate anything on the Bukkit plugins, such as additional blocks and weapons...but there are so many I am probably overlooking them.

I'd really only like to run the basic server with some additional crafting mods found on here, but so far the few that I have tried do not work via lan, which means even though single player works, I am not going to get them to work with multiplayer. Can someone please point me in the right direction for setting something like this up, or if it is even possible?

Windows 7
Minecraft-1.5
Minecraft Server-1.5.1
Minecraft Forge-1.5.1
CraftBukkit-1.5-R0.1

Thanks
Taledus
Level 3 : Apprentice Miner

Create an account or sign in to comment.

03/27/2013 1:18 pm
Taledus
LOL, I guess I am really new to Minecraft!

I totally overlooked the "Open to LAN" option...now we can both use the same mods from here
03/25/2013 8:12 pm
Taledus