How to make my skins more interesting?

Boxscape's Avatar Boxscape11/17/19 5:54 pm
3 emeralds 276 6
12/13/2019 3:17 am
Yowyow19's Avatar Yowyow19
Hello. I've been editing over skins for a while, (for my own personal use!) and I've started making my own skins. They're not good. At all. But I'm a newbie, soo... What tips do you guys have to make skins more interesting? (preferably monster skins or human skins, but all categories are fine!) By interesting, I mean detail-wise and technique wise.

Thanks!

-Boxscape
Boxscape
Level 1 : New Miner

Create an account or sign in to comment.

Yowyow19
12/13/2019 3:17 am
Level 30 : Artisan Crafter
I've only gotten back into skinning recently, so I'm probably not the best person to listen to, but here's some general stuff that's helped me:

- Try drawing out how you want the character to look on paper first. That way you're not just sitting in the editor with only vague ideas for what you want things to look like.

- Usually, I like to lay down my base colors and shapes before adding any shading or detail, just to work out where everything is.

- TEST YOUR SKIN IN-GAME AS EARLY AS YOU CAN. I can't tell you how many time's I've had to re-do sleeves because I put what was supposed to be on the outside on the inside. The earlier you try to correct a mistake, the easier it is to fix. The new launcher has a cool thing where you can view your skin without having to run the game, which is great for saving time.

- Make different parts as distinct as possible. You want to be able to tell what's hair, what's a shirt, etc.

- Don't use neons! One super-bright color is ~maybe~ okay for accents, but any more and the skin hurts to look at! Bright colors are still great, just tone it down a little bit. I know it'll look dull in the color picker, but please try to use less-saturated colors.