How to Install Texture Packs

OverlordCML's Avatar OverlordCML4/26/19 11:01 pm
1 emeralds 2.5k 10
4/27/2019 6:28 pm
OverlordCML's Avatar OverlordCML
Hello. I'm new to the modding community for Minecraft. I was wondering if anyone could help me figure out how to use a texture pack. Every download link I click on for every texture pack leads me to a website that tricks you into downloading a tremendous amount of third party software, and I cannot find any real download link. Thanks!
OverlordCML
Level 1 : New Miner

Create an account or sign in to comment.

04/26/2019 11:32 pm
Level 72 : Legendary Pixel Painter
Nighthearted
Unfortunately, there are a lot of shady sites that rehost Minecraft texture packs and mods. 9Minecraft is one of the offenders that appears the most in Google search results for resource packs. Here is a list of sites to avoid made by StopModReposts.

Generally, resource packs posted on PlanetMinecraft are legit as long as they have been here long enough to have been vetted by the community. Often, resource packs on here have been put behind an ad-hosting site such as AdFly, but as long as you don't click on anything but the official download button, you should be fine. I highly recommend using an ad-blocker not only for downloading from AdFly, but just to enhance your overall internet experience.
04/26/2019 11:39 pm
OverlordCML
Do you know how to navigate through the obstacle course of AdFly lol? I tried to skip through the ads, but I never ended up finding a real link or page.
04/26/2019 11:52 pm
Nighthearted
Click only the "Skip ad" button in the top right corner. It should look like this
04/27/2019 12:11 am
OverlordCML
Ah okay. I think the texture pack I was trying to download is just actually non-existent. Cuz' I try to skip the ad, but then it just opened one page asking me to turn on notifications (no) and another with Page Not Found. I found another pack that finally worked, now I just need to figure out how to actually use it.