MC Server Help

_TheSwagUnicorn_'s Avatar _TheSwagUnicorn_2/20/20 4:58 pm
3/8/2020 7:29 pm
icephantom's Avatar icephantom
I'm not a complete noob when it comes
to servers, I understand how they function. But I recently switched of a
payed service to launch my own server since I got a better computer.
I'm using a paper (didn't work on vanilla either) server for 1.15.2.

My issue is that I can connect to my server, no one else can.

-I have port forwarded
-They are using my public ip
-I put my ipv4 address in my server.properties where is says server-ip:
-I have allowed java (SE) Binary... or whatever it was through my firewall (Private and Public)
-I have allowed TCP and UDP with the port 25565 through my firewall (Private and Public)
-I have turned off my firewall (It's back on now)
-I have no antivirus installed
-I turned turned off the built in windows antivirus (It's back on now)
-I have tried asking my friends to add :25565 to the end of my public ip (Even though that shouldn't do anything anyways)
-I do know it has something to do with my computer
- The error says the connection has timed out
- Exact error: io.netty.channel.AbstractChannel$AnnotatedConnectException: Connection timed out: no further information
-I've also redone the process of setting the entire server up 3 times
_TheSwagUnicorn_
Level 30 : Artisan Miner

Create an account or sign in to comment.

02/21/2020 9:40 pm
Level 15 : Journeyman Ninja
ModestAF
You need to have 0.0.0.0 as your server ip in properties, you shouldn't be able to join your own public IP address, you have to join your local host ip address, and let them join your separate public ip... you cant create a server on your own wifi network and connect to your own networks public ip as if you were public traffic lol if that makes sense.. so if your connecting.. your probably giving them the wrong ip address.... i tried my best at explaining that part best of luck! :D
02/20/2020 8:12 pm
Level 15 : Journeyman Miner
icephantom