Server Hosting?

Orthokid's Avatar Orthokid3/12/14 10:09 pm
1 emeralds 250 8
3/18/2014 2:01 pm
Snowyfox's Avatar Snowyfox
I have a pretty powerful computer, and I don't use all of the power it has, so I'm think of hosting a server. However, I need everyone's input first.

I am currently hosting a few modded servers for my friends to go on, but nothing public. If I were to set up my own public server, what point should I tackle it from? Should I just do another faction server like everyone else? Or is there something different I can try? Also, is it a good idea for me to sell server space to other people?

I am a decent builder, as I am working on a few projects, so I can do the architecture myself. I'm really good at putting files together for plugins and managing the IP side of the server. I hate doing permissions coding, but my brother doesn't mind sitting there and typing for hours. Setting up a donation system shouldn't be too hard.

I would really appreciate anyone's comments or ideas on how I can use my abilities and resources to try and make a good server and a little extra money.
Orthokid
Level 11 : Journeyman Taco

Create an account or sign in to comment.

03/13/2014 6:34 pm
Orthokid
What mod should I do, in other words, which mod/ modpack is in the highest demand?
03/18/2014 2:01 pm
Level 26 : Expert Princess
Snowyfox
Try Feed The Beast, or perhaps Ars Magica?

EnderFallsMCI can host for you, it will be cheaper than any company and i will be able to provide much better customer service.
Email me and we can talk about it.

x17Andrew71x@gmail.com

What on EARTH is with all the advertising these days...?
03/14/2014 9:50 pm
Snowyfox
...That, I don't know, lol. Soz.
03/13/2014 5:54 pm
Snowyfox
Orthokid
Snowyfox
OrthokidI am currently hosting a few modded servers for my friends to go on,

Port them for public use? Or do the same thing but for public? Since you're already experienced in that area, and some people are begging for modded servers to come back again.