Help with functions

Flashbulb's Avatar Flashbulb2/3/21 5:31 pm
2/4/2021 10:24 am
One_Nose's Avatar One_Nose
I am new to datapacks and was wondering how would I make a function, that when used teleports the player to a random location and gives them blindness for 10 seconds?
Flashbulb
Level 47 : Master Fish

Create an account or sign in to comment.

02/04/2021 10:24 am
Level 57 : Grandmaster Hero
One_Nose
You cannot teleport a player to a completely random location, but yhe /spreadplayers command spreads the chosen entities randomly in a chosen area. This is its syntax (text inside < > should be replaced with something of your choice (explained below). Text inside [ ] is optional):spreadplayers <center> <spreadDistance> <maxRange> [under <maxHeight>] <respectTeams> <targets><center>: this is the center point of the area, without Y pos. You would most likely want it to be the point where the player stands (~ ~).
<spreadDistance>: this specifies the minimum distance between the entities that would be teleported. Since you are only telepoting a single player, this doesn't actually means anything, and you want to set it to 0.
<maxRange>: this is the furthest point the player could be teleported. I think the heighest possible value should be either 127, 255 or 256, you can check it out, so that's what you should do if you want to go wild. If you want to go really wild, you can do the /spreadplayers command more than once so the maximum value would be even greater,