data structure packs - Need some helplive_help

2 emeralds4 replies121 views
16bitmap started 4/24/20 7:31 pm
JDawgtor replied 5/22/2020 4:10 pm
Hello there!

My name is 16Bitmap. I'm kind of new to all this datapack creation and also to the planet minecraft forum as you might have seen.

During this strange period of COVID I'm trying to learn some stuff that I've always wanted to learn. Create custom data packs.

I've chosen to start with the thing I would like the most and then work through everything I need next to that and maybe more. Structure packs.

So I want to add more structures that I've made myself to the minecraft world. I know there are a few packs that already do this and I'm using them as my example to learn from. Tho, when I don't know what I'm reading it tends to be a bit hard.

I would love it so much if someone would be able to help me a bit here and there with some code or maybe jump in on the project.

Things I'm stuck on right now:
- How do I control the amount of spawning in the world?
- How do I let the structure know if it can spawn underground/on the surface/floating/halfway underground?

Packs that I'm trying to learn from:
- https://www.planetminecraft.com/data-pack/fancystructures-for-1-14-wip/
- https://www.planetminecraft.com/data-pack/your-structures-datapack/
- https://www.tyruswoo.com/minecraft/ (Tyruswoo game changer datapack series)

I would love to hear from you guys. I'm available here or on discord if needed. You can send me a PM or just react here!

Thanks a lot!

-Bit
Posted by avatar
16bitmap
Level 40 : Master Artist

Create an account or sign in to comment.

4 replies

04/29/2020 7:04 am
Level 46 : Master Modder
Oskyyr
Oskyyr avatar
Hey i also worked with random generation and custom structures and will post my knowledge about this.

As much as i know you can't change the world generation at all.
The datapacks summon random armor stands with custom names and tags to detect them later.