Ticket #13537

1
Type
Bug Report
Status
Accepted
Opened by
Views
184
Access
Public
Created
4/11/21 1:32 pm 4/11/21 1:32 pm
Updated
4/14/21 9:45 am 4/14/21 9:45 am
Assigned

Preview button does not make it clear that the submission is saved.

This is more like a contextual problem and not a functional bug. (Feel free to turn this into a feature ticket)

Anyone who has been on PMC knows the old "publish live" checkbox and can guess that the preview button does exactly that. However, right now the publish process can be very confusing for new users.
  • The right button is always the most wanted button. Which is why I think the button order should change from "live, preview, cancel, delete" to "delete, <spacer>, cancel, preview, live"
  • "Preview' is the wrong word altogether. A preview is "before confirming" and it doesn't make sense that the submission saves on preview, even though that's much wanted functionality. Also, what happens if it's already live and I click preview? Would it go back to draft status or would the old version stay live and would I get to see the new version preview?
  • I think it would make more sense to make 1 button saying "Publish" with an arrow next to it that after clicking on it shows "Publish As Draft" in a dropdown.

  Have something to say?

Join • Sign in

Cyprezz
• 04/15/2021 9:18 am
He/Him • Level 71 : Legendary Cyborg Programmer
history
I removed cancel, reordered, redesigned and labeled the remaining two options to:


In addition, the previous update did keep the established "Publish Live" checkbox but it appears after the initial publication of the content.

It also introduced a new dialog if a member decides to draft a live submission:



Thanks for the feedback on the button options themselves, I like that it lead to only two options and it is clearer now what both do.

What do you think?
1
Bertiecrafter
• 04/15/2021 10:20 am
• Level 72 : Legendary System
history
Already much clearer! Thanks for picking up on this. Anything left is just stylistic things which is understandable if you think it should be different.
  • To me it doesn't feel right that the delete button is to the right of the save button.
  • A checkbox normally doesn't cause changes, the warning dialog makes it look like it does. I would move the warning trigger to the save changes button, as long as the publish live box was checked before and it isn't upon clickign the save button. That way people won't get confused if they uncheck the box, click the DRAFT SUBMISSION button (inside the warning dialog) but don't save. (And adding "Make sure to save after this dialog!" to the warning box seems odd).
  • Better yet, perhaps the publish live checkbox should go for a "Convert to draft" button that displays this warning. Inside the warning dialog the button would just be "SUBMIT" or "OK"
1
Cyprezz
• 04/14/2021 9:45 am
• Level 71 : Legendary
set status to Accepted, assigned Cyprezz.
Thanks for feedback. Will make some revisions.
1

Welcome